Being friends with boys you love (in 10 Parts)

Being friends with boys you love
(In 10 parts)

1.
Warning
It’s high tide again
Beware
Danger is near she told me

2.
I tried to play it cool.
Wasn’t effected
Had my survival kit and my running shoes next to the bed
I was fine
Until he made me breakfast

3.
His charm oozed from the walls
All the things I love about him causally displayed
Camera to capture the moment I slip
The moment I laugh for real
Natural lighting is sexy
And there he was in the sunlight looking new and untainted
Looking like the perfect bachelor
Ready to be taken off the market

4.
I am not committed to writing this poem about him
Don’t want to make us seem beautiful again
When we are capable of decapitation
Of Katrinaing each other
We are tornado lovers

5.
And we say we are just friends

6.
Fighting the energy that left us unable to speak

7.
I miss him daily
Don’t call when I need him to prove
I can survive anything

8.
Fuck what you heard I am happy

9.
Until
I am barefooted in his living room
Faced with all the ways he forgets about me
Keyboard and photo booths
Wardrobe
And lights

10.
And even still
I hide reminders of him everywhere I am
Carry him in my stride
In my smile on Sunday afternoons when the sun is too bright to hide
How obviously
I love him
Still.

Leave a Reply

