I dare you.

I was not always confident enough to speak words the way I felt them
Thought silence would suffocate the pain
It does not 
Taught myself to come alive
I wrote and wrote and wrote
Until my mouth could form the words my backbone wouldn’t carry
I wrote until I found the truth of things
Until I saw the light again
There is always light somewhere
Beyond the bruises
And the names you call yourself
Sometimes your worst enemy lives in your own skin
Shares your face and claims to love you
That hateful voice is not love
I promise you
There will come a day (Beloved)
When your fight is bigger than your fear
When you nearly claw your way out of your body to prove you exist
Leave that skin for someone else
And design your own wings
You are a masterpiece
Magnificent in your glory
Have you seen her lately?
The girl with the halo smile and welcome home hands
She is the best thing never seen cuz you are too busy being scared to be great
And I get it
Sometimes your body is as cumbersome as adulthood is
Sometimes you are drowning and wonder if anyone even notices
Read books for answers and nothing speaks to you
We are told our complexity is a burden by people too weak to embrace their own
Conditioned to be selfless
Exist restless, unhappy
and never expected to verbalized it
We are told to balance the uncertainty of this world with grace
in stiletto heels and a perfect complexion
And that is just not realistic
So let’s rewrite these unspoken rules
The ones that shackled us to people we never intended to be
News flash: 
You are allowed to fart
Cellulite is the devil
“Get out, you naked girl with cellulite” said no one ever… so get over it
High heels are not a requirement
A flat stomach is not for everyone cuz chips are delicious!!
You are allowed to be as you truly are
There is space for every person on the spectrum
We are dynamic if nothing else
Gorgeously ourselves
We are women of something greater
Speak and the universe will react
Align your actions with your intentions
And watch your life become breathtaking as sunset.
I DARE YOU!
57 thoughts on “I dare you.

  1. Dear Natalie,
    I saw you on Soul Pancake and immediately fell in love with your spirit, enthusiasm, words and the feeling of reality that you carry. Confidence is so important. As a teenager growing up with a verbally abusive mom is difficult. But only this summer did I stop and think to myself what her words mean to me. I used to cry myself to sleep every night. I had an eating disorder. I fell behind in school. My usually bubbly and happy personality sort of faded into the abyss of my own mind. I was unhappy, and I listened to every word she said and took it to heart. Then I met a teacher who said words very similar to your own. That teacher worked with me and would give me a hug or a smile when I was feeling sad. She would give me the compliments and appreciation that I’ve never gotten from my mother. She, to this day, is my guardian angel, and saved my life. Words like the ones in this poem change hearts and minds. I hope you know how very much this means to me. You are a phenomenal woman, an amazing writer, and a bubbly ball of inspiration. I have shared this poem with everyone I know and am getting it framed on my wall. If I didn’t meet my teacher last year, lord only knows what my life would be like today. But I can tell you this: if I was in that position, and I saw this poem, it would make me realize what I now know. Words only have the power that we give them. So thank you for putting this out there, I’m sure at least one person looked at this and smiled. I did.

    • You are so wonderful to write me. Thank you for your honesty and for fighting for yourself. It takes a great person to honor and celebrate the people that help them along the way. I hope you share with your teacher how meaningful she is to you. Please stay in touch with me. I want updates on how you are doing! You are a star.. SHINE!

      Xo
      N.

  2. Your words are so honest and genuine it touched my heart right away, thank you for being so honest, your words truly inspired me .

  3. Natalie, girl, you are so wonderfully talented! I saw you on Soul Pancake not too long ago, and I have loved this gift that you have. It is something that is changing the lives of people all over the world (even Australia, where I live). It’s the little things like sharing a positive word that truly make an impact, so thank you. Stay beautiful! 🙂 x

      • Hey Natalie!
        I’m 18 so I’m just starting university this year. I have a lot of time on my hands until then, so YouTube’s been taking up a fair amount of that time hehe! But I’ve been working, and working on hobbies and things in the meantime. How about you? What have you been up to?

        Emily
        🙂

  4. Wow Girl,
    You knock my socks off, blow me away, touch my heart and share a much needed message of love and hope. Found you via Soul Pancake and feel blessed to know of you now. I look forward to more on youtube and puttering around your site here to learn more about you, glorious you. Thanks for sharing your heart and soul in your poetry. Dang right chips are good…oops I just farted…bwahahahahaha. You are so real and I adore that about you.
    Warmly,
    Allie

  5. Wow, thats all I have to say. You are so inspirational, the words you speak and the way you speak those words gives me and people from all stretches of the world the confidence to be who are selves, to not care what people think about us. You hear it all the time on talk shows and youtube channels, but your poetry finally made it click. Personally, I have never really had too many self confidence issues (only to have a flat stomach, but ya know what! I’m just gonna eat some chips instead!), my friends, however, have struggled through depression, cutting, etc, and after introducing you to them, I’m finally starting to see the happy part of them that I saw when we were 5. I wish we didn’t live on different continents to you because, frankly, I just want to shake your hand.

  6. You have no idea how much i needed to feel your words. Thank you. Food for my fearful soul. I will be sharing this poem with all the amazing and beautiful people I know to remind them how beautiful and amazing they really are. Please keep writing. You give a powerful voice to us who do not yet embrace or even understand the truth you are crafting about ourselves.

    I have to go now and read your poem again 🙂

  7. Inspired. Love your words, your delivery, your presence. I imagine myself reading your poems to my friends. I’m old as the hills and learned these things the hard way – but can imagine if your poetry had been there to shine the light back when I was still young. Keep sharing because you make a real difference.

  8. Natalie, your poems are the most uplifting things I have ever heard. When I saw this and the other one about beauty on Soulpancake I felt immediately so good about myself. They are so much more powerful when you hear them out loud, and your voice is perfect. I just wanted to leave you a little comment to let you know how amazing you are!

  9. I first fell in love with your poetry when I saw you on Soul Pancake since I have been obsessed with all your poems on here. Your words are beautiful and you are gorgeous! Keep writing. Keep inspiring. Keep doing amazing things!

  10. I absolutely love your work. I first heard your poetry on Soul Pancake and could not get enough. Your words are incredibly human and I always feel loved after reading them. Thank you for being brave enough to share your talents with the rest of the world so that we, more specifically I, might feel understood.

  11. Dearest Natalie,
    You inspired me. You inspired my soul and my dreams to become a better person. I was bored, when I came across SoulPancake’s video. I saw you read this poem and inmediatelly fell in love with it. My heart was filled with the love and strengh of your words! I’m inspired. And I want the women around me to feel this I’m feeling. I’m from Argentina, I’m one of the few people my age that speak english. I will translate this beautiful poem as good as I can to share it. Hope you don’t mind.
    I have a huge smile on my face right now, this really spoke to me. I was looking for something to touch my soul. You gave it to me. Thank you so much.

    Love,
    Florencia Zapata Dolcemáscolo.

    • Flo!

      You are a dream. Thank you so much for writing me. My poems are at the end of each episode in the series.. Have you watched them all? You are so wonderful to translate and share it with your favorite women. I’m so glad this poem is meaningful to you. I wish you nothing but love and joy always.
      N.

  12. Hi Natalie! When watching the soulpancake vieo I just could not stop watching the end over and over again. Thank you for sharing your work. I really felt that! Love

  13. Natalie,

    First off, you are amazing!
    The passion and realness behind your words is absolutely breathtaking.
    Being told my entire life by my mother what I felt was wrong or bad or being shamed when I expressed myself I still have days where I forget its okay. It’s a daily struggle. I find my relief in the arts. Music, poetry, painting just any form of expression I can. I fear being a victim of my pain and emotions. I often contemplate writing or sharing my story.
    I saw you on soul pancake and your voice brought so much emotion to light I had been hiding. I found myself in tears, good tears! I decided I am going to write and somehow share my story. Make sure my suffe*ring becomes my strength! I want to thank you for that! I admire your talent and bravery. Please never stop what your doing.

    • Miranda,

      I really appreciate you reaching out. I’m so proud to be a part of “that’s what she said”. The series has brought to the surface so many things we all needed permission to say and feel. Make time to tell your story. You never know when you might be in the perfect moment to effect the lives of so many.

  14. Pingback: Alignment of Desire – I GOT IT! I have a Beautiful Mind – I have a Beautiful Body – I have a Beautiful LIFE! | fabulousnessunleashed

  15. Natalie,

    I have never been a poetry person. I read my obligatory prose in school and since then never even thought to pick up a book or actively search it out. Yet stumbling upon you in the Soul Pancake video and hearing you recite your words with such passion and purpose brought me to tears. I’ve felt like I’ve been in a bit of a quarter life crisis lately, stuck in a job I don’t like and feeling like I’ll never be happy and find my purpose. I fight myself every day to go to the gym and look better and be motivated when sometimes, I’m just not, but in NYC that just doesn’t cut it most of the time. I’ve wanted to start making Youtube videos of my own but have always been too scared of what my friends and family would think. But, for whatever reason, fate brought me to that video, and your words, and it felt like you were speaking so directly to me and my position that it blew me away. THANK YOU for being you– otherwise I would not have been blessed to find you! It’s more motivating than you know.
    -Maggie

    • So glad you found me! Life is.. A lot sometimes. If I have learned anything in the last few years it is: don’t judge the moment, it’s fuel for the future! Wake up everyday and TRY, find something to be grateful for. Yes, there are gonna be times you don’t wanna do shit BUT when you wanna do something else.. Celebrate it! Small victories count just like big ones! I’m rooting for you. Be bold. Be brave! I dare ya!

  16. Love love love and feel so moved by your soul pancake performance. Do you have an MP3 of this poem? I would love to listen to it more xxxx

  17. Natalie,
    I was blown away by your poems on Soul Pancake. I am a teacher, a lover of words, and a voracious reader, but poety has always felt flat and distant to me. Your poems speak to my heart as though I wrote them myself. Thank you for teaching me to appreciate something new, encouraging me to be comfortable in my own skin, and brightening my day. Keep up the great work!

  18. You are a beautiful woman. Thankyou for sharing this with me. Your words are so dynamic to the heart. They demanded a response from me. I love your passion which exudes from all your poems. Please do not stop, you have a gift that can help woman around the world. I am from Australia so this is the otherside of the world for you 🙂
    Would you ever let me read this out to my school? somewhat like slam poetry?
    I am a 16 year old student from Sydney.
    Thankyou once again,
    Sending much love,
    Margot

  19. Hi, Natalie
    Just wanna tell you how great you are and how special became my night after i’ve watched you on soulpancake. You’re a realy special soul. Yep, so i guess you have a big fan in Brazil. o/
    After all internet can be cool.

    Sorry about my english i’m a good listener but im still struggling when i need to write something.
    So lets do this last part in portuguese.

    Um abraço forte, saúde e amor. “Qualquer amor já é um pouquinho de saúde, um descanso na loucura.” Guimarães Rosa.

    Renata Braga. São Paulo. Brasil

  20. Reblogged this on Angie Li and commented:
    “I dare you.” by Natalie Patterson is a beautiful piece of poetry that never fails to make me feel moved and empowered. It is heartfelt, strong, easy to visualize, fun and beautiful. Have a read!

  21. Natalie Patterson this is beautiful. It never fails to make me feel moved and empowered. It is heartfelt, strong, easy to visualize, and fun.

  22. Pingback: #darlingpancake | confidence and perception | Simply | Whitney Porter

  23. This poem is beyond beautiful. Thank you for writing this. Thank you for being such a beautiful soul, person, woman. Thank you for empowering women all around the world. Lots of love from Peru!

Leave a Reply

